EDUC 762 WEEK 6, JULY 15-21

th

I’m beginning to wonder if taking two courses at the same time was a wise move. With working full time, and being a mom to two teenagers, I have an overflowing plate. I am afraid that something is going to fall through the cracks or I’m going to crack under the pressure before it’s all said and done. But then I remember that if I take one task at a time, one step at a time, it becomes more manageable, and I begin to see the light at the end of the tunnel (unless the light is actually a train headed straight for me).

Cybercoaching was the topic of conversation this week, and generated some interesting dialogue around the challenges that arise in the classroom (whether F2F or online) of providing genuine and constructive formative and summative assessment in a manner that is both timely and realistic without burning ones self out in the process. From the readings for this week, the article E-Learning and Constructivism: From Theory to Application, the assessment model I am using is well in line with what the article suggests, from a variety of sources, not just between the learner and instructor, but between the learner and the content, and between the learner and their peers.  SOme of my activities are not “graded” per se, but “success” is determined by the completion of a given task and others’ ability to use the completed task to get from one point to another.

This week we focused on a pre-course survey, and were to use personal starts to the questions so that our potential students could get a glimpse of who we are as instructors. This was a challenge for me, to create a series of questions that give me a glimpse int the personality and preferences of these students while giving them a hint or two as to the direction the course will take.

I used SurveyMonkey to create my survey,  Getting from Point A to Point B and have used a variety of open ended questions including multiple choice and short answer. The survey making tool was simple to use and easy to link to both this blog and my web page. Go to the link and take the survey, as I would be interested in a wide variety of answers.

2 thoughts on “EDUC 762 WEEK 6, JULY 15-21

  1. Steph says:

    Patti,

    Yes, it is easy to feel overwhelmed. You have quite a full plate! As far as I have seen, you are doing great work! Hang in there, though! There is light at the end of the tunnel here. Your pre-course survey is well-designed and will provide valuable information for you. Keep up the great work.

    Steph

  2. dkhalsa2013 says:

    Patti, this blog with your candid posts is enjoyable to visit. I reviewed your precourse survey and thought it was ‘perfect.’ Your students will certainly appreciate the personal touch of information you supplied them. Thanks. (The end is ‘nearer’…and you will get there soon:). Your description of how to proceed – moment by moment- is exactly how I completed my Ph.D. without stress. ~ Datta Kaur

Leave a Reply

