EDUC 760Week 2: March 11, 2013 – March 17, 2013

Netiquette and online community raised some interesting questions for folks this week. Setting up “rules” about online behavior made me step back and think about human behavior in general. The Golden Rule, Do Unto Others as You Would Have Them Do Unto You seems to be a good one to live by even in cyber communities. Don’t behave in such a manner that would cause others to behave badly back at you. Seems simple enough, and yet…. We humans just can’t seem to help ourselves, We hide behind the anonymity of the screen and become something other than who we might be in person.

What was most helpful to me this week was learning about Diigo and the ways it can highlight, note and save articles and materials I find I want to save in a way other than bookmarking them. It makes a screen shot as well as a bookmark, so I will always have it – AND, I don’t have a horrendous list clogging my bookmark list and slowing down my browser, because it’s all stored on a cloud. So very cool. PLUS, I can share these articles with others and glean from articles they deem important to share with me. This is great for educators and groups of all kinds.

pmorlock

Leave a Reply

